Bethel Park Memorial Elementary PTA

OUR MISSION STATEMENT
The goal of the Memorial Elementary PTA is to provide each child who attends our school with fun and educational opportunities which will enhance the great learning experience our teachers and administrators provide. With a strong support system, our children will be able to strive for and achieve their dreams…they are the future; let’s help make it a successful one!

UPCOMING PTA MEETINGS

All meetings are at 7:00 p.m. in the
Memorial Multi-Purpose Room.

  • Monday, September 19

Login:
Password:
  
First Name Last Name Position Room Email Extension
First Name Last Name Position Room Email Extension
Mary Bentel Teacher 13 bentel.mary@bphawks.org 1082
Catherine Salay Instr. Support IST salay.catherine@bphawks.org 1061
Aaron Booz Teacher Music booz.aaron@bphawks.org 8354
Steve Bruno Teacher Music bruno.steve@bphawks.org 1418
Karen Sakowitz Teacher Reading sakowitz.karen@bphawks.org 1087
Jill Schall Teacher 12 schall.jill@bphawks.org 1907
Jim Foster Teacher 23 foster.james@bphawks.org 8185
Betty Francis Teacher 7 francis.betty@bphawks.org 1381
Melissa Hruby Teacher 22 hruby.melissa@bphawks.org 1135
Elizabeth Johnston Teacher Reading johnston.elizabeth@bphawks.org 1204
Jennifer McAfoos Teacher 14 mcafoos.jennifer@bphawks.org 1566
Stephanie Miller Teacher 8 miller.stephanie@bphawks.org 3316
Kristen Mills Teacher 4 mills.kristen@bphawks.org 1067
Cathy Oczkowski Librarian Library oczkowski.cathy@bphawks.org 3346
Ciretta Mickey Noontime Aide      
Toddy Reese Teacher 21 reese.toddy@bphawks.org 1065
Michelle McClellan Enrichment   mcclellan.michelle@bphawks.org 1593
Eric Hamilton Phys Ed Teacher Gymnasium hamilton.eric@bphawks.org 8327
Lauren Silay Phys Ed Teacher Gymnasium silay.lauren@bphawks.org 8955
Georgeann Collins Teacher 2 collins.georgeann@bphawks.org 1464
Amy Mittner Teacher Art mittner.amy@bphawks.org 1455
Keri Spell Teacher 10 spell.keri@bphawks.org 8200
Jesse August Teacher 20 august.jesse@bphawks.org 3335
Maureen Swogger Teacher Speech swogger.maureen@bphawks.org 1407
Nancy Tweel Teacher Music tweel.nancy@bphawks.org 8380
Kristen Ritchie Teacher   ritchie.kristen@bphawks.org 1263
Lynne Augenstein Noontime Aide      
Judith Barry Paraprofessiona   barry.judith@bphawks.org 1429
Karen Bianco Paraprofessiona   bianco.karen@bphawks.org 1356
Linda Bove Paraprofessiona   bove.linda@bphawks.org 1545
Annette DiCello Noontime Aide      
Penny Giannangeli Instr. Aide   giannangeli.penny@bphawks.org 1484
Helen Golden Instr. Aide   golden.helen@bphawks.org  
Pam Brace Noon Aide      
Joyce Koch Noontime Aide   koch.joyce@bphawks.org 1110
Tom Hrvatin Custodian   hrvatin.tom@bphawks.org  
Susan Hodgson Paraprofessiona   hodgson.susan@bphawks.org  
Elizabeth Page Paraprofessiona   page.elizabeth@bphawks.org 1342
Diane Rall Teacher Computer Lab rall.diane@bphawks.org 8881
Pat Wasemann Noontime Aide     8921
Jacob Lewis Custodian   lewis.jacob@bphawks.org  
Eric Chalus Principal Office chalus.eric@bphawks.org 8506
Eileen Wallace Nurse Nurse's Office wallace.eileen@bphawks.org 8508
Jan Siwek Nurse's Aide Nurse's Office siwek.jan@bphawks.org 8508
Darla Morrow Secretary Office morrow.darla@bphawks.org 8506
Cindy Wood Social Worker   wood.cindy@bphawks.org  
Melissa Porter Teacher 3 porter.melissa@bphawks.org 1427
Joyce Searles Paraprofessiona   searles.joyce@bphawks.org  
Elizabeth Maidman Teacher 5 maidman.liz@bphawks.org 1066
Jennifer Saussol Teacher 15 saussol.jennifer@bphawks.org 3333
Erin Sweeney Teacher 1 sweeney.erin@bphawks.org 3381

Frequently Asked Questions about the PTA

  • What’s the difference between a PTA and a PTO?
  • The PTA is a non-profit, tax exempt, national organization where a PTO is limited to the resources of the individual school. The PTA board receives supplies and reference material from the state and national level. We also carry liability insurance at a national level.
  • What do my dues pay for?
  • A portion of your dues goes to the state to cover materials and resources and also insurance. The other portion stays with us to provide for activities our fundraising doesn't cover, such as assemblies and class parties.
  • What’s in it for me?
  • PTA's keep parents involved and informed. The improve children's school environment and experience by adding a variety of fun and educational programs, providing resources for the teachers and buying equipment for the school, just to name a few. Rigorous studies show that when parents are involved, children do better in school. You get the right to vote on important changes at your child's school. You get to voice your concerns at PTA meetings. You get a voice at school board meetings.
  • What happens at a PTA meeting?
  • Minutes are reviewed from the last meeting. The Principal gives a report. Each board member gives a report, such as the budget and any thank you notes are mentioned. We then go through committee updates, questions or problems. At the end, we have an open discussion where anyone can bring up anything to talk about. All decisions made at the meeting must be voted on and approved before it can go into effect.
  • What is a "room parent" and why do I have to be a PTA member to be one?
  • A room parent is a name we give to parents who want to help out at holiday parties. You DO NOT have to be a room parent to help when the teacher calls you or to go on field trips. You DO have to be a PTA member to help at parties because the parties are paid for by PTA funds. This rule is determined on the national level of the PTA.
  • What can parents who are new to the school do to become involved?
  • At the beginning of the year, we sent home a short letter naming a few things that were easy to start with. We always need volunteers, no matter if you can help for a week or an hour. You can contact the chairperson directly or any of the board members. All contact information is located on the website.